Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

U.S. Representative Justin Amash

Representing the 3rd District of Michigan

Amash announces winners of art competition

May 9, 2017
Press Release
May 9, 2017
Corie Whalen
(202) 225-3831
Amash announces winners of art competition
Pieces to be displayed in U.S. Capitol and Amash’s congressional offices
GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.) announced the winners of ArtFest 2017, the Congressional Art Competition for Michigan’s Third District, at an awards ceremony at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum on Saturday, May 6.
Grace Vroegindewey’s piece, Wild Cats, was named the grand prize winner and will be on display in the U.S. Capitol for one year alongside winners from other congressional districts. Pure by Ellie Haveman (Northview High School) and Modern Renaissance by Nick Ensing (Northview High School) were the Representative’s Choice winners and will be displayed for one year in Amash’s congressional offices.
Vroegindewey, a student at Plymouth Christian High School, will visit Washington, DC, this June for a reception honoring the winners. Pieces from Clara Dart (Thornapple Kellogg High School), Maggie Doherty (Thornapple Kellogg High School), Lyrah Woltjer (Forest Hills Eastern High School), Katrina Peterson (Caledonia High School), Donovan B. Tucker (Kent Career Tech Center), Kennedy VanLierop (Byron Center High School), Madelyn Verbrugge (Caledonia High School), Isaac Thomas (Kent Career Tech Center), and Mitchell VanDyke (Caledonia High School) were named honorable mentions.
The Grand Rapids Art Museum, Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University, Kent Intermediate School District, Lake Michigan Credit Union, Portland Community Arts Council, Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts, ArtPrize, Kellogg Community College Art Department, and the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation were sponsors and participated in the judging committee.
The Congressional Institute sponsors the Congressional Art Competition in cooperation with the U.S. House of Representatives. The annual competition is open to high school students in participating congressional districts. More than 650,000 students have participated in the competition since it began in 1982.
A copy of the grand prize winning piece is attached to this release.