Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

U.S. Representative Justin Amash

Representing the 3rd District of Michigan

Amash recognizes service academy appointees and Congressional Medal of Merit recipients

March 31, 2014
Press Release
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                      
March 31, 2014
Will Adams
(202) 225-3849

Amash recognizes service academy appointees and Congressional Medal of Merit recipients

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.) recognized the service academy appointees and student Congressional Medal of Merit recipients from Michigan’s Third District at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum on Saturday.

“I am honored to recognize these deserving students for their outstanding achievements. I wish them great success in their future endeavors,” said Amash.

Applicants to the service academies require a nomination by a Member of Congress. To assist with the nomination process, Amash assembled a committee of military and civic leaders who interviewed potential nominees, reviewed their applications, and made recommendations.

In addition to the 10 service academy appointees recognized, Amash honored 39 students with the Congressional Medal of Merit. The Congressional Medal of Merit recognizes high school seniors who have demonstrated exemplary citizenship and academic excellence. Recipients were nominated by their principals or guidance counselors.

Service Academy Appointments
Name                                 School                                                          Service Academy
Noah Becker                     Comstock Park High School                  United States Naval Academy
                                                                                                                  United States Air Force Academy
Ethan R. Cook                  Marshall High School                              United States Military Academy
Daniel J. Davis II              Portland High School                              United States Military Academy
Alexandra Hoiles              Forest Hills Central High School         United States Naval Academy
Monica Lubis                    Marshall High School                              United States Air Force Academy
Timothy Naski                  East Grand Rapids High School          United States Naval Academy
                                                                                                                United States Air Force Academy
Devin Price                       Marshall High School                              United States Military Academy
                                                                                                                United States Air Force Academy
Turner Andrew Shaw       Harper Creek High School                    United States Military Academy
John Jurrien Veldkamp     Calvin Christian High School              United States Military Academy
                                                                                                                 United States Air Force Academy
Ryan Whitlow                   Forest Hills Central High School           United States Air Force Academy
Congressional Medal of Merit Recipients
Name                                 School
Yuliana Alcauter               Union High School
Jackson Bennett                Forest Hills Northern High School
Kyle Beyer                        Lakeview High School
Georgetta Booker             East Kentwood High School
Travis R. Cole                   Douglas R. Welch High School
Daniel Davis II                 Portland High School
Carley Dibert                    Union City High School
Scott Ely                           Byron Center High School
Tatyona Fields                  Ottawa Hills High School
Ethan Fletcher                   Battle Creek Central High School
Ethan Guis                        West Michigan Lutheran High School
Victoria Hager                  Lakewood High School
Frederick Hallacy              St. Philip Catholic Central High School
Ebony Haynes                   Byron Center Charter School
Carl Herdegen                   Forest Hills Eastern High School
Aimee Kalczuk                 West Catholic High School
Steven Kopf                      Thornapple Kellogg High School
Allison Lang                     Rockford High School
Nick Lorencen                  Calhoun Christian School
Monica Lubis                    Marshall High School
Taylor Mackey                  Forest Hills Central High School
Josiah March                     West Michigan Homeschool Fine Arts
Sally Marsh                       East Grand Rapids High School
Asia Nguyen                     West Michigan Academy of Environmental Science
Alena Olsen                      Caledonia High School
Katie Oomkes                   Northview High School
Lennox Gill Ramsey         West Michigan Aviation Academy
Tyler Ridgeway                Homer High School
Keirstyn Romesburg         Gerald R. Ford Job Corps Center
Nicholas Rossi                  Catholic Central High School
Bailey Sarka                      Ionia High School
Turner Shaw                      Harper Creek High School
Jessica Shier                      South Christian High School
Kellie Spahr                      Cedar Springs High School
Daniel Stapley                   NorthPointe Christian High School
Joseph Warner Van Harn  Grand Rapids Christian High School
Kailyn Wales                     Hastings High School
Andrew David Webb       Barry County Christian High School
Cynthia Xiao                     City High Middle School


Attachment Size
16.98 KB